Media & Press

UNB, Dal and UOttawa solidify their 2019 Schuhlich Leaders!

1 May, 2019

The first crop of 2019 Schulich Leaders is here! UNB, Dal and Ottawa make their picks.

Joining the University of New Brunswick squad is science student Ashton Grigg, a graduate of Westilsle Composite High School in Elmsdale, PEI. In 2018 Ashton received the coveted Youth of the Year award in her community for the significant impact she had there. UNB’s engineering recipient this year is Vardaan Malhotra. Nominated by Fredericton High School in Fredericton, NB, he is an accomplished entrepreneur. In 2018 he developed a program called Food Scope to help reduce food waste in the Fredericton area. Food Scope currently partners with three businesses, has more than 500 followers, and has been recognized by CBC-Shift for Change, government officials, and many local eco-friendnly organizations.

The Dalhousie University Squad is also complete, starting with science recipient Ethan Eastwood. Ethan’s alma matter, JL Ilsley High School, based in Halifax, NS, is a three-time winner of the scholarship. Lauren Atkinson won in 2012 at Dalhousie, and Meriel Fitzgerald won in 2015 at Memorial. Ethan has taken many online advanced courses that has let him excel and graduate high school two years early. This year’s engineering winner at Dal is Maxwell Bauer from Prince Edward High in Dartmouth, NS. Maxwell has won many awards over the years including the Lieutenant Gover Award, the Nova Scotia Power of Change Award and the Generation Capital Community Award. 

Neve Foreman is the first of the University of Ottawa’s winners. Pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Statistics, she is a graduate of Smithers Secondary School in Smithers, BC. Fluent in French, Neve is also an accomplished figure skater, having completed the Skate Canada Gold Skating Skills level. UOttawa’s engineering candidate is Ellen Perry from École secondaire publique Odyssée in North Bay, ON. In addition to the SLS, Ellen is a recipient of the prestigious award Phénix de l’année (Phoenix of the Year), an annual recognition at her school that honours one student among all others who is a well-rounded role model academically and athletically, and who demonstrates leadership skills. 

We look forward to having these students join the #2019SLSquad! #LeadersGonnaLead!