Media & Press

UMontréal, MUN & UVic Schulich Leaders join the #2018SLSquad!

1 May, 2018

Another group of Schulich Leaders is filling up the 2018 cohort!

UMontréal welcomes science scholar, Robin Legault. A graduate from Collège de Valleyfield in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, QC, Robin conducted research affilliated with the Center for Research in Neuropsychology and Cognition. He also founded the Winter Challenge, an annual sporting event dedicated to becoming an integral winter pentathlon. Joining Robin is engineering candidate, Vlad Drelciuc. Vlad was nominated by Collège de Bois-de-Boulogne based in Montréal, QC. Stefan Horoi previously won from this school, also to attend UMontreal. While in school, Vlad was elected Vice President of Marketing for a therapeutic accessories manufacturing company 100% run by students. 

Joining the MemorialU SL squad is science receipient, Alex Janes. Alex is from five-time SLS winning school Prince of Wales Collegiate in St. John’s, NL. Prior winners include: Jivetesh Chhatwal (Memorial, 2012), Xiongyi Cui (UCalgary, 2013), Jennifer Tucker (Memorial, 2014) and Sakif Mohammed (Memorial, 2015). Not to be outdone by her peers, Alex was a recipient of the 2017 RDC RISE Awards, where 20 students from across Newfoundland were sent to summer enrichment programs. Alex is also a leader and outspoken advocate in bully prevention as a certified Red Cross Beyond the Hurt Facilitator. Wesleyville, NL high school Pearson Academy grad Celina Melindy will be joiining Alex this year as Memorial’s engineering SL recipient. An avid volleyball player, she is the first winner from her high school, a two time SLS participant.  

Rounding out this batch of Schulich Leaders are the exceptional recipients attending UVic. Science scholar, Karlee Zaruk was nominated by Oak Bay Secondary in Victoria, BC. Oak Bay has an impressive history of producing Schulich Leaders for the past three years in a row! Robert Lee won at UVic in 2016 and Jack Stanley at U of T last year. Karlee is a Big Brothers/Big Sisters Mentor in her hometown, where she has weekly visits with her “little buddies.” Her humanitarianism does not end there, demonstrating leadership through her extensive volunteer work in local Victoria hospitals in addition to two trips abroad through a “Live Different” program at her high school. Spencer Hancock will be pursuing engineering this Fall at UVic. The Ecole Ballenas Secondary School student in Parksville, BC is also from a three-time SLS winning school! Kyle Wamer won at U of T in 2012 and Gibson Clark won at UBC last year. Spencer is the head of software development for the Ballenas Cube Satellite Team.

Congratulations to these incredible Canadians and welcome to the Schulich Leader Network and #2018SLSquad!