Media & Press

#SQUADGOALS – The first block of 2017 Schulich Leaders has arrived!

1 April, 2017

Dalhousie, UNB and U Ottawa have confirmed their 2017 Schulich Leader Scholarship recipients. All three will be adding two exceptional people to their SL Squad.

But what exactly is an SL Squad? Each of our 20 partner universities form their own micro-community of Schulich Leaders, dubbed an SL Squad. Volunteer Captain(s) facilitate various activities throughout the academic year from group meals, to meetings with University Presidents and Distinguished Faculty, road trips to meet other SL squads and even escape rooms, being a Schulich Leader comes with many more benefits than just a monetary reward!

Joining the Dalhousie SL Squad is science recipient Kate Arpin. Kate was nominated by Uxbridge Secondary School in Ontario. Accompanying her is engineering recipient Bradley Jones of Yarmouth Consolidated Memorial High School in Nova Scoita.

Madeleine Crawford of Bluefield High School in PEI will be pursuing a Bachelor of Science and joining the UNB Squad this upcoming Fall. Nathan McNally, a graduating student of North East Kings Education Center in Canning, Nova Scotia will be pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Engineering alongside Madeleine.

Rounding out this first group of confirmed 2017 Schulich Leaders is U Ottawa science recipient, Denis Qeska. Denis was nominated by Forest Hill Collegiate Institute in Toronto. Susan O’Brien from Corner Brook Regional High in Newfoundland will be joining him as she pursues engineering. This is the third winning Nominee from Corner Brook Regional High. Previous winners include Maike van Niekerk and Maria Park. The remaining five high schools in this group are producing a Schulich Leader recipient for the first time!

Wishing lots of luck and success to this amazing group of students. Welcome to the Schulich Leaders Network and your respective SL Squads!