Media & Press

Six more Schulich Leaders join the Squad!

1 May, 2017

UBC and U of A solidify their 2017 Schulich Leaders!

Four students will be joining the UBC Squad. UBC was one of the top five universities with the highest number of applicants for the second time in three years, in turn they were awarded one additional science award and one additional engineering award.

The first of their two science recipients is Miranda Andersen. Miranda is an upcoming graduate of Burnaby Mountain Secondary School in BC. Andrew Tong of Robert A. McMath in Richmond, BC is also pursuing science. Frank Hurt Secondary School‘s Ali Janjiana is studying a Bachelor of Science in Engineering. Ali is the second recipient from his Surrey, BC high school; Wylee Fitz-Gerald received the award at U Vic in 2015. Gibson Clark is the other engineering recipient at UBC. His alma matter, Ecole Ballenas Secondary School in Parksville, BC, also procuded a winner in 2012. Kyle Wamer was selected by U of T that year.

Joining the U of A squad is engineering student Sean Sander. Sean was nominated by Cathlic Central High in Letherbridge, AB. Natasha Danha, a nominee from Mother Margaret Mary High School in Edmonton is their science recipient. 

Natasha’s School Nominator, Shelagh Pedersen, says she exemplifies what is truly means to be a “changemaker.” Each and every one of these students demonstrate this characteristc. We look forward to seeing what you all achieve in the years to come!