Media & Press

Six more Schulich Leaders join the #2018SLSquad

1 May, 2018

UBC has officially confirmed their four Schulich Leader recipients while UCalgary firmed up their two 2018 scholars last week!

UBC was amongst the top five universities attracting the most nominee applications and in turn was able to grant an additional two scholarships this year. Their first recipient is science student Emily Cross. Emily is a graduate of Hammarskjold H. S. in Thunder Bay, ON, a first time SLS winner! In both 2015 and 2016 Emily represented Canada at the Intel Science and Engineering Fair. Joining Emily is fellow science scholar, Ronin Cunningham, who is the third winner in a row from Seycove Secondary in North Vancouver, BC. Scott Bernard was awarded the SLS at SFU in 2016 and Saba Askari Jafar Abadi at UVic in 2017. Ronin created a documentary called “Against All Odds”, featuring interviews with Mike Harcourt (former Premier of BC) and Shirley Chan (past Chairman of UBC Board of Governors). Mateo Pekic, from first time winner Prince of Wales in Vancouver, BC, is one of two UBC engineering recipients. He previously won a GVRSF Silver Medal & SFU Department of Chemistry Award. The second engineering recipient is Frank Hurt Secondary School’s Rebecca Lim. Her school previously had two SLS winners – Wylee Fitz-Gerald at UVic in 2015 and Ali Janjiana at UBC last year. Rebecca founded a STEM club at her high school, where she collaborates with fellow leaders to develop a curriculum and support students as they explore their interests in STEM.

Joining the UCalgary SL squad is science scholar, Rylan Marianchuk. Rylan was nominated by Humboldt Collegiate Institute in Humboldt, SK. An athlete, Rylan was a member of Team Saskatchewan that won the baseball gold medal at the 2017 Canada Summer Games. This year’s engineering winner at UCalgary is Maria Baclig from Louis St. Laurent School in Edmonton, AB. Maria was involved in the science community as a Science Expo Ambassador from 2015 to 2017. Both of these students are from schools who have never produced a Schulich Leader before! 

Congratulations and welcome to the 2018 #SLSquad and the Schulich Leader Network!!