Media & Press

Scholarship Update: UBC, UAlberta and USask solidify their 2016 Schulich Leaders!

1 April, 2016

UBC, UAlberta and USask have confirmed their 2016 Schulich Leaders!

Lasya Vankayala has accepted the Science award on behalf of UBC and is now the second graduating student from David Thompson Secondary School to receive the prestigious scholarship. William Kwan was previously awarded in 2012 by The University of Toronto. The 2016 Schulich Leaders at UBC were finalized with Noah Tajwar of Riverside Secondary School in Port Coquitlam accepting the Schulich Leader Scholarship to pursue a Bachelor of Engineering degree. 

Strathcona School’s Ben Hallworth is the Engineering recipient at the University of Alberta. Ben is the second graduating student from his high school to receive this award, following in the footsteps of 2014 University of Alberta recipient Kirtan DhunnooHis counterpart, Sheldon Cannon accepted UAlberta’s scholarship offer to pursue a Bachelor of Science degree. Sheldon is a graduating student of Kindersley Composite High School in rural Saskatchewan.

The University of Saskatchwan rounded out the most recent scholarship confirmations with Andrew te Linde of Calgary Christian School accepting the Engineering scholarship and Alana Krug-MacLeod of Aden Bowman Collegiate confirming acceptance of the Schulich Leader Scholarship to pursue a Bachelor of Science degree.

We wish Lasya, Noah, Ben, Sheldon, Andrew and Alana congratulations on this life-changing accomplishment – big things are in store for these exceptional individuals!