Media & Press

Five more universities confirm their SL Squad members!

1 May, 2017

The #2017SLSquad continues to grow! Joining the mix are U Montreal, U Manitoba, U Sask, McGill and U of T!

Stefan Horoi is U Montreal’s math recipient. A graduate of Collège de Bois-de-Boulogne in Montreal, his goal is to obtain a BSc in Mathematics. Joining him is engineering student Frédéric Larocque from Cégep de Rimouski in Rimouski, QC. He plans to study aerospace engineering.

U Manitoba welcomes science student Shayna Timmerman, Nominated by Treherne Collegiate in Treherne, MB. Bailey Paziuk from Ste. Rose School joins her and is pursuing engineering. Ste. Rose School is also located in Manitoba.

Joining the U Sask Squad is Kinga Nolan from Dr. E.P. Scarlett High School in Calgary. She is pursuing science.  Her counterpart, Regan Wilson from Holy Cross High School in Saskatoon, is going into engineering.

McGill has also confirmed their 2017 Schulich Leaders. The first of their two recipients is Iveta Demirova. She was put forth by New Westminster Secondary School in BC and is planning to study Biochemistry & Biotechnology. Cégep Édouard-Montpetit, located in Longueuil, Québec, put forth Katherine Sirois, who plans to study Electrical, Software and Computer Engineering.

U of T welcomes 4 members to their 2017 SL Squad, as they were amongst the five universities with the most applicants. Carl Pinter from Cornerstone Christian High School in Moose Jaw, SK will be studying science. Joining him in his science pursuits is John Stanley from Oak Bay Secondary School in Victoria. Oak Bay Secondary School has produced Schulich Leaders before – Mohammed Abousaleh in 2014 (U Vic) and Robert Lee in 2016 (also U Vic). The first of two engineering students is William Aird, a Nominee from St. Brother Andre Catholic High School in Markham. Rounding out this Squad is Andres Lombo, also pursuing engineering. He was Nominated by St. Thomas Aquinas in Oakville.

Of the 12 Schulich Leaders in this group, only one is from a high school who has previously produced winning students. Congratulations to all and welcome to the Squad!