Media & Press

Canada’s top Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) students receive $100,000 and $80,000 scholarships

1 June, 2020

Meet the 2020 class of Schulich Leaders, entering university this Fall 

We are pleased to announce the ninth cohort of Schulich Leaders, recipients of Canada’s largest, most prestigious STEM scholarship.

Out of a pool of 350,000 potential candidates across Canada, 1,400 students were nominated. This year, 100 students received this celebrated award, up from 50 in prior years.

Of the 100 recipients, 50 receive $100,000 to pursue an engineering degree and 50 receive $80,000 to pursue a science, technology or mathematics degree at 20 Canadian partner universities.

“Schulich Leader Scholarships are the premiere STEM scholarship program in Canada and the world. With 100 outstanding students selected in Canada this year, it is all but guaranteed that this group will represent the best and brightest Canada has to offer. These future leaders will make great contributions to society, both on a national and global scale. With their university expenses covered, they can focus their time on their studies, research projects, extracurriculars, and entrepreneurial ventures. They are the next generation of entrepreneurial-minded technology innovators,” says Mr. Schulich.

The 2020 Schulich Leader scholarship recipients are :

First Name Last Name University Home City Home Province
Anish Aggarwal University of Waterloo Windsor Ontario
Tara Ferguson University of Waterloo Guelph Ontario
Tina Hanna University of Waterloo Oakville Ontario
Jacob Mausberg University of Waterloo toronto Ontario
Yash Mulki University of Waterloo Oakville Ontario
Dhruv Upadhyay University of Waterloo Whitby Ontario
Tyler West University of Waterloo Sunderland Ontario
Jason Xiong University of Waterloo Toronto Ontario
Peter Zhu University of Waterloo Moncton New Brunswick
Chris Adolphe University of Toronto Toronto Ontario
Mallory Bond University of Toronto Mississauga Ontario
Adele Crete-Laurence University of Toronto Toronto Ontario
Aaron D'Mello University of Toronto Ajax Ontario
Zack Fine University of Toronto Ottawa Ontario
Daniel Hocevar University of Toronto Toronto Ontario
Aditi Misra University of Toronto Mississauga Ontario
Azeem Mohammad University of Toronto Ajax Ontario
Jessie Ritter University of Toronto Bancroft Ontario
Matthew Toohey University of Toronto Grimsby Ontario
Shathurshika Chandrakumar McMaster University Toronto Ontario
Erin Donahue-Boyle McMaster University Ottawa Ontario
Magalie Durepos-Létourneau McMaster University Timmins Ontario
Tomas Frankovich McMaster University Markham Ontario
Sam Khzym McMaster University St. Thomas Ontario
Hayley Monson McMaster University Toronto Ontario
Tyler Ng McMaster University St. Thomas Ontario
Ahmed Raja McMaster University Milton Ontario
Aaron Shannon McMaster University Hamilton Ontario
Anthony Vu McMaster University Hamilton Ontario
Kailey Beckie University of British Columbia Rocky View County Alberta
Susan Chung University of British Columbia Burnaby British Columbia
Aidan Eglin University of British Columbia Armstrong British Columbia
Yoshi Esanullah University of British Columbia Edmonton Alberta
Adam Gurbin University of British Columbia Pickering Ontario
Rita Jin University of British Columbia Richmond British Columbia
Ethan Lodermeier University of British Columbia Summerland British Columbia
Romina Mahinpei University of British Columbia North Vancouver British Columbia
Niki McIntosh University of British Columbia Abbotsford British Columbia
James Ropotar University of British Columbia Kelowna British Columbia
Catie Austin Queen's University Brantford Ontario
Rabab Azeem Queen's University Barrie Ontario
Emma Davison Queen's University Goderich Ontario
Abdellah Ghassel Queen's University Kingston Ontario
Sharaf Khan Queen's University Scarborough Ontario
Liyi Ma Queen's University Guelph Ontario
Shashank Ojha Queen's University Toronto Ontario
Emanuel Piccininni Queen's University Nobleton Ontario
Nazanin Soghrati Queen's University Richmond Hill Ontario
Dajung Yoon Queen's University Drayton Ontario
Natalie Loewen Western University The Archipelago Ontario
Charlotte Motuzas Western University London Ontario
Kat Murray Western University Niagara on the Lake Ontario
Elizabeth Olsson Western University Surrey British Columbia
Cole Sweet Western University Oakville Ontario
Christy Xie Western University Markham Ontario
Chris Chong McGill University Vancouver British Columbia
Anne Sarah Dickman McGill University Montreal Quebec
Joey Koay McGill University Calgary Alberta
Ana Eugenia Quintero Garcia McGill University Calgary Alberta
Louis-Philippe Robichaud McGill University Québec Quebec
Maggie Xiong McGill University Richmond British Columbia
Jessica Hammal University of Alberta Edmonton Alberta
Grafton Hopkins University of Alberta East Selkirk Manitoba
Shubhkarman Jaura University of Alberta Winnipeg Manitoba
Rajan Maghera University of Alberta Edmonton Alberta
Ben Sharp University of Alberta Blairmore Alberta
Jeff Sinclair University of Alberta Bragg Creek Alberta
Michael Kohlman University of Calgary Calgary Alberta
Philippa Madill University of Calgary Drayton Valley Alberta
Jenna Murphy University of Calgary Canmore Alberta
Shubh Patel University of Calgary Grande Prairie Alberta
Cole Roberts University of Calgary Calgary Alberta
Raunak Sandhu University of Calgary Calgary Alberta
Kiara Bergagnini Dalhousie University Thunder bay Ontario
Corbin Bowering Dalhousie University Innisfil Ontario
Rylan Cloney Dalhousie University St. Stephen New Brunswick
Zach Fraser Dalhousie University Sydney Nova Scotia
Daniel Kang Dalhousie University Rothesay New Brunswick
Lauren La Porte Dalhousie University Toronto Ontario
Angéline Lafleur University of Ottawa Ottawa Ontario
Jeremy Leigh University of Ottawa Campbellton New Brunswick
Victor Kamel University of Victoria Parksville British Columbia
Sean Lee University of Victoria Port Alberni British Columbia
Chloe Ma Simon Fraser University Surrey British Columbia
TJ Poddar Simon Fraser University Surrey British Columbia
Joshua Bond University of Manitoba Winnipeg Manitoba
Shubhneet Thind University of Manitoba Winnipeg Manitoba
Jessica Dean University of New Brunswick Bedford Nova Scotia
Stephen White University of New Brunswick Saint John New Brunswick
Arliss Sidloski University of Saskatchewan Weyburn Saskatchewan
Olivia Stewart University of Saskatchewan Toronto Ontario
Luca Filippelli York University Caledon Ontario
Amen Okungbowa York University Toronto Ontario
Tara Gover Memorial University of Newfoundland Bathurst New Brunswick
Tanisha Tucker Memorial University of Newfoundland Meadows Newfoundland
Francis Clavette Université de Montréal Carignan Quebec
Kathleen Lupien Université de Montréal Blainville Quebec
Laurie Dauplaise Laval University Sorel-Tracy Québec
Cyril Gagnon Laval University Ville Mont-Royal Québec

About Schulich Leader Scholarships Canada

Recognizing the increasing importance and impact that STEM disciplines will have on the prosperity of future generations, businessman and philanthropist Seymour Schulich established this $100+ million scholarship fund in 2012 to encourage our best and brightest students to become Schulich Leader Scholars: the next generation of entrepreneurial-minded, technology innovators.

Through The Schulich Foundation, these prestigious entrance scholarships are awarded to 100 high school graduates this year, enrolling in a science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) undergraduate program at 20 partner universities in Canada. Every high school in Canada can submit one Schulich Leader Nominee per academic year based on academic excellence in STEM, entrepreneurial leadership and financial need.